Javier Vazquez

Miami Marlins are based in Miami, Florida playing in National League East division. The team’s home stadium, Marlins Park in downtown Miami has been their stadium since the 2012 season. The team was established in 1993 as the Florida Marlins when they were based at Joe Robbie Stadium, and by moving to the new park marked their change of name to Miami Marlins and the beginning of a new era for the franchise.

Previous to being the Marlins this franchise has made it to the playoffs in 1997 and 2003 being National League Wild Card in both occasions. They won against Cleveland Indians 4-3 in who were the American League Champion in the 1997 World Series in the 2003 World Series, Miami Marlins defeated New York Yankees 4-2 when it was clear they were aiming for a World Series with all the all-star pickups they had before the 2003 season. You can look for Miami Marlins tickets without service fees for the MLB 2017 Season here.

The Miami Marlins is the first team in the MLB to have a cheer team starting in 2003. The cheer team, the Marlins Mermaids was a smart move for the franchise as they were formed before other Major League Baseball teams to have their own cheerleader squads. By 2008, the team had formed an aall-mal dance squad, The Marlins Manatees to co-star in conjunction with the Marlins Mermaids. However, by 2012 Miami Marlins had discarded both the cheer dance teams for a more in-game entertainment group of dancers and performers to entertain the fans.

The best finishes in the team’s history include finishing second in 1997, 2003, and 2009, while they finished third in 2005 and 2008. Their worst finishes, on the other hand, include finishing 5th in 1993, 1998, 1999, and 2012, while in 2013 they finished 6th. Stadium attendance for Miami Marlins has been below average over the years; they are ranked 30th for the past twenty years which is one of the lowest in MLB history.

Miami Marlins received the Livan Hernandez Award in their 1997 World Series MVP, as well as Mike Lowell (Silver Slugger), Dontrelle Willis (ROY), Jack Mckeon (MOY), and Josh Beckett (World Series MVP) awards in 2003. In 2009, Hanley Ramirez took the Silver Slugger and National League Batting Title, and Chris Coghlan bagged the National League Rookie of the Year title. In 2008, Hanley Ramirez took home the Silver Slugger, and in the 2005 Miguel Cabrera bagged the Silver Slugger, Mike Lowell took home the Gold Glove, while Luis Castillo was also taking home the Gold Glove.

The opening day lineup for 2017 NBA season included Dee Gordon (2B), J.T. Realmuto ( C ), Christian Yelich (CF), Giancarlo Stanton (RF), Justin Bour (1B), Marcel Ozuna (LF), Derek Dietrich (3B), Adeiny Hechavarria (SS), and Edison Volquez (P). The Marlins who have ever resided in the Florida Sports Hall of Fame include Wayne Huizenga, who was the owner between 1993 and 1998 in addition to Jeff Conine 1B between 1993 and 1997 and LF between 2003 and 2005. The Ford C. Frick Award receivers have been Felo Ramirez and Dave Van Home, who earned the award because of their work as broadcasting for the Marlins.

The current lineup including the outfielder, Christian Yelich together with J.T Realmuto, is two upcoming youthful players that have favorable contracts with the team. However, First baseman Justin Bour is good and getting better and better, although he is cheap. Outfielder Marcel Ozuna, on the other hand, will continue to be a big bat for more seasons to come. Star Hitter Giancarlo Stanton’s has an uncertain future with the team; however, he is expected to have one of the baseball’s top power bats for more seasons to come. Therefore, these players who have traded in value such as Yelich, Stanton, and the rest dot not bear movable assets Miami Marlins wants to keep.